Sisyphus was here – shoveling, I think   Leave a comment

More snow – I have been shoveling every day. And each time it’s nearly a foot of new snow! It’s now up to my hips in places that haven’t been shoveled. The photos above are of the lake that we look out on. It’s actually all covered in snow except for small little areas where the water is warm due to the hot springs. That little pool is very small, perhaps 10 feet wide. Today during a sunny period, I walked to the lake and then to the gym. When I was packing, I brought my very big boots thinking I wouldn’t need them. They’re all I’m wearing these days!

I worked some more on the two Ice Caves. This first one still feels like I haven’t quite figured out where I’m going with it.

This second one, however, is coming together. I love the mosaic feel to it. And for the watercolorists reading this, I did NOT use masking fluid to make those tight white lines. They were lifted up and then I painted very dark edges.

Packing tomorrow! I can only work in the morning because I’ll have to make sure my palettes are dry. Last Sunday when I had more than a week in front of me, it seemed like I was going to be here forever. And now here we are, getting ready to say goodbye.

Leave a comment